Strawberry Rhubarb Parfait Cupcakes

I had some David’s Tea Strawberry Rhubarb Parfait tea in the back of my cabinet that was dying to be used, so I thought why not use it to bake something delicious. I found David’s Tea’s recipe for Earl’s Valentine cupcakes and slightly modified it to be used with the Strawberry Rhubarb Parfait tea. The end result is truly delicious. A sweet white cupcake with a hint of strawberry.

Just a note that David’s Tea recipe also has an icing recipe using tea. I didn’t use that as I had some icing in my fridge ready to be used. But feel free to look at David’s Tea’s icing recipe if you would like.

DSC03937

For this recipe you will need:

  • 10 tsps (or 4 David’s Tea Perfect Spoonfuls) of Strawberry Rhubarb Parfait tea (or whichever tea you desire)
  • ½ cup hot water
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp of honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (David’s Tea suggests using 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp of rose water. You can do either or.)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¾ cup milk

First, preheat your oven to 350°F.

Then steep your tea in the 1/2 cup of hot water for 10 minutes. I used David’s Tea large Steeper but a pot with a strainer is fine too. Its important that you steep for 10 minutes to get a concentrated dose of the tea. Once you strain the tea into a small bowl, you should end up with about 1/4 cup of tea. Then combine the 3/4 cup of milk with the tea.

In a large separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt.

In a smaller separate bowl, beat together the butter and sugar. I used a hand mixer which I find works best. You want to get it as fluffy as possible. Then mix in the vanilla extract (and rose water, if you are using that), 2 eggs, honey, and the 1 cup of milky tea.

Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and combine until smooth.

David’s Tea suggests using a food colouring to get the mix to your desired colour. I just kept mine as is.

Then use cupcake fillers to fill your cupcake sheet. I find this is way less mess than not using them. Spoon in batter into each cup. I went almost to the top of the cup. The mix will make 12 cupcakes total. If you want smaller cupcakes you can probably maybe get 14 total. But I like the size and shape of the 12 once finished. They formed nice muffin tops.

Bake for 16-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Mine were closer to 20 minutes.

Let cool completely. Then cover with icing and decorate as desired.

David’s Tea’s recipe did call for a lot of sugar and I did cut it down a bit and added honey instead. But as it was my first time trying it, I didn’t want to cut it down too much and risk messing up the recipe. But if I do make them in the future I will try using less and less sugar. As they are pretty sweet and I had cut down on the 1 cup that was originally suggested. So feel free to experiment with the sugar and sweetness. And feel free to experiment with other dessert teas, not just Strawberry Rhubarb Parfait.

Bon Appetit! And Enjoy!

DSC03928

Leave a Reply

