Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books to Read if You Loved The Princess Diaries

This week on Top Ten Tuesday, The Broke and the Bookish asked for our top ten books to read if you like a particular popular author or book. I decided to do my list of the top ten books/series to read if you enjoy The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot. Since Volume I of The Princess Diaries series was released in 2000, it has since spawned ten more books, four novellas, two movies, and a spin-off series. The openness and honesty of the main character, Mia Thermopolis, and her awkward and sometimes embarrassing teenage experiences make this coming-of-age story about a young girl who discovers that she is a princess, uproariously funny and incredibly addictive. So I went looking for a few other awesome books or books series that are coming-of-age YA humours.

1.Confessions of Georgia Nicholson series by Louise Rennison

This series is also quite large with ten books in total, and the first book, Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging was also made into a movie. These reads follow the journal of a young British teen named Georgia Nicholson, a vain and self-centred girl, who gets into ridiculous, and hilariously awkward and embarrassing hi-jinks. This series will leave you laughing uncontrollably.

georgia-nicolson-series

2. Hex Hall series by Rachel Hawkins

This trilogy (there is a also a spin-off series) follows a young teen named Sophie Mercer who discovers that she is a witch, and when one of her spells goes horribly wrong she is sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for wayward witches, faeries and shapeshifters. It is sort of Harry Potter (except at a terrible reform school) mixed with lots of humour and interesting characters.

Hex Hall

3. Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter

The Gallagher Girls follows Cammie Morgan, a student at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, which on the outside seems like your typical all-girls school, but it is really a school for spies. Hilariousness ensures when Cammie perfectly adept at killing a man in seven different ways, is unable to talk to an ordinary boy. 

e10f0fcb35899596368296fd34af6c8c

4. Spud series by John van der Ruit

There are four Spud books so far, and they take place in 1990 as apartheid is crumbling in South Africa. Nelson Mandela has just been released from prison, and Spud Milton, a thirteen-year-old, prepubescent choirboy extraordinaire, is about to start his first year at an elite boys-only boarding school. This hilarious coming-of-age story includes rowdy young boys, illegal midnight swims, raging hormones, and embarrassingly dysfunctional parents.

Spud-books-full-series-20150704011501

5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This coming-of-age story has a much darker humour compared to some of the other books I’ve mentioned, but it is still a great book that highlights the ups and downs of being a teenager, including the good, the bad and the funny experiences. My review of this book is here.

cvr9781471118180_9781471118180_hr

6. Airhead series by Meg Cabot

Another great series by Meg Cabot, this trilogy follows Em Watts, who after a terrible accident, wakes up to discover that she is literally in the body of teen supermodel sensation. Em, having always been the tomboy, has difficulty adjusting to this new body, which leads to some very hilarious situations.
the_airhead_series_meg_cabot_1438843318_7396709f

7. A Precious Stone trilogy by Kerstin Gier

One of my absolute favourite trilogies of all time, these books follow Gwyneth Shepherd, who realizes that instead of her cousin, she is actually the member of her family to have inherited the time travelling gene. Her interactions with another time traveler, Gideon (who she must work closely with), are hilariously awkward at times. However the books also offer a lot of mystery and suspense. I plan to read the first book, Ruby Red, later this year for my book challenge.

01bc0f94f545a5f143d27c1dbf01fb9583b40b428a

8. Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

More on the lighter comedy side, but every much of a strong coming-of-age story, the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants follows four great friends who find a pair of jeans at a thrift shop that magically fit each of their body types perfectly. When they each go away for the summer, they decide to form a sisterhood and vow to send around the pants to each sister from wherever they are, to keep the bond strong. Heartwarming with many moments that will make you smile, this is a must read.

5911409898_227ea3eec4

9. Heist Society series by Ally Carter

Also another Ally Carter series, these books follow Katarina Bishop, a master con artist, who has been stealing, scamming and conning since she was three. When Kat cons her way into the best boarding school in the country, hilarity ensues.
06-30-14-giveaway10. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

What happens when a southern belle suddenly acquires incredible superhuman abilities? Why hilariousness of course. In another Rachel Hawkins series, a young teenager named Harper Price becomes a Paladin, an ancient line of guardians with superhuman strength, agility and fighting abilities. Not only that but she is forced to protect David Stark, her least favourite person. The banter between these two characters brings a lot of laughs.

8475505

Advertisements

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books to Read if You Loved The Princess Diaries

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s