Matcha Green Tea Muffins

My friend basically demanded that I put this recipe up now because she wants to use it. So this is for you Curly-Haired Thinker.

We had a potluck yesterday for our book club read, Hausfrau (my review for this is coming), and I decided that I wanted to bake something. I thought to myself, I’ve never baked with matcha before so its the perfect time to try something new.

If you are a tea novice and do not know what I am talking about when I say matcha, here is a brief explanation. Matcha is a fine powdered green tea. Normally when you make tea, you steep the tea leaves in hot water, and when its done you drink the water and leave the leaves. But with matcha you are actually drinking the leaves. I know that probably sounds awful but its really delicious. When the tea leaves are picked, they are then steamed, stemmed, devined and then ground into a fine powder, before being stored away. Because you are actually drinking the tea leaves, you do not lose any of the antioxidants from the leaves. Therefore matcha has many health benefits. It is loaded with antioxidants, specifically those known for having cancer-fighting properties. It increases metabolism and energy levels, improves memory and concentration, acts a detoxifier, improves cholesterol levels, and strengthens the immune system. Matcha is great in smoothies, lattes, ice cream, sweet and savory dishes, or just on its own. For some more info about matcha and how to make it, here is a great video.

matcha-3

I found this recipe on simpletruths and I was a bit nervous at first about how the muffins would turn out because the recipe looks too easy. But everyone at the potluck seemed to really love them. I will definitely try this recipe again and play around with it. And super super easy to make!

You will need:

  • 1 2/3 cup of flour (I used all-purpose but I’m sure you could use a different type)
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 1.5 tbsp of Matcha (I put a little more than recommended but I love matcha) – I used the Grand Cru Matcha from David’s Tea, which is a higher grade matcha and more expensive (I got it for free), but you can find lower grade, cheaper matcha that is great for baking and probably tastes just as good.
  • 1/3 cup of sugar
  • 2 tsp of agave nectar (I think next time I’m going to try more agave syrup and less sugar, its probably healthier)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup of melted margarine (you can also use butter) – I just put this in the microwave for about 20-30 seconds to get it a bit softer and then threw it in
  • 1 cup of milk (you could use soy or almond milk)
  • Optional: 1 cup of chocolate chips (you could also use walnuts or raisins)

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix flour, salt, baking powder, matcha, sugar in a medium sized bowl.

Mix egg, margarine, milk, and agave nectar in a smaller bowl and then add it to the dry ingredients.

I used cupcake wrappers in a muffin pan and then filled each of them about 3/4 full of the mix. But I feel if you grease the muffin pan enough you will probably be able to get away with putting the mix directly in the pan. I just like using the wrappers because then there is no mess.

Bake for 20-22 min.

Sorry my pictures are so bad. I made these muffins at 11pm and the lighting is really terrible. But the pictures below show first the result when I added the dry ingredients, then once the ingredients are all together and finally how they turned out.

As you can see I added chocolate chips to mine, but you can do them without. I added in chocolate chips more so because I knew some people at the potluck had never tried matcha, and I didn’t want to overwhelm them.  These are great for the morning to give you an energy boost. I took one of these to work this morning and I ate it right away and I was good to go for a few hours.

DSC00954_FotorDSC00958_FotorDSC00962_FotorI hope you enjoy these! If you try to make them, please tell me how they turn out in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Matcha Green Tea Muffins

Leave a Reply

