Cottage Again?

I am off to the cottage again. I know it feels like I was just there. But summer is almost over, and we wanted to squeeze in one more trip before the sun is gone.

I know its been a slow week in terms of reading but I’m halfway through Foxcatcher, and I plan to do lots more reading over the next few days. So for this weekend, I am finishing Foxcatcher and I am starting A Crown of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. And I will also try to start Panic by Lauren Oliver. I am moving through a few genres because Foxcatcher is a memoir, while A Crown of Thorns and Roses is sort of a medieval fiction (its being marketed as a young adult version of Game of Thrones). Whereas Panic is sort of a modern, highschool senior style Hunger Games. I know that my analogies are not very good. But I will get a better sense of each book after I read them.

And finally after a two and half month hiatus, I finally met with my book club to discuss our June read, Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz. Book club members have been away on vacation or completing summer courses, and we haven’t had the chance to meet, so finally tonight we were able to sit down and discuss it. I have to be up early in the morning and I was packing for the cottage, so I didn’t have time to write up a review of the read and our discussion. However I will post that review on Monday when I am back. Our July book club read is The House Girl by Tara Conklin. And as we are so behind, we have decided to all complete the book by August 20th and discuss it. Then hopefully we can complete our August read, Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum before the end of August. It will be tight but I think we can do it.

No Wifi for the next few days, so I will see you all on Monday!

Leave a Reply

