Book Review: Golden

This review will be a little different because I wanted to share some of my cottage pictures. It had been over a year since I’d been to my family cottage and it certainly brought up some memories. I decided to dig through the games closet and pulled out all of the old games while I was there. I was amazed that some were from the 1960s when my dad was a kid. I was very surprised to find that the “twister” game was made in Canada, locally in London, Ontario. I have been trying to figure out whether they still make them (I find it unlikely, but still possible). If anyone can confirm whether Somerville Industries in London still makes the game, please let me know.

DSC00649DSC00678

The beach near my cottage in Lafontaine, Ontario has been deserted the past few years due to low water levels and an overall lack of interest in regular maintenance. However I noticed a huge improvement in the water levels this year and the tourists were finally coming back to this beautiful area. The beach was not packed with people as it was 10 years ago, but it appears to be slowly returning to its former glory.

DSC00692 DSC00696DSC00699

The relaxing atmosphere helped me to finish a lot of reading, which I’m very happy about. Now to the books….

Golden by Cameron Dokey, another book in the Once Upon a Time series, about a girl name Rapunzel, whose mother made a deal with a sorceress before her birth. The deal was as follows: if she could not love her newborn from the moment she saw her, she would have to give the child to the sorceress, Melisande. When Rapunzel’s mother finally saw her child, completely bald without hope of ever growing hair, she was horrified and immediately sent Rapunzel away with Melisande.

The sorceress has the power to see into another’s heart, and this theme of love and desire are present throughout the book. That’s how she is able to see into Rapunzel’s mother’s heart and know that she had no love for Rapunzel and never would.

“When I gazed into your mother’s heart and found no room for you within it, I heard a sound, like the opening of a door. It seemed to me that her inability to look with the eyes of love could not be coincidence. At long last, perhaps I was being offered the chance to redeem the daughter that I had lost.” – Golden by Cameron Dokey

When Rapunzel is sixteen years old, she learns that Melisande has another daughter named Rue, who was cursed by a wizard. Melisande says that Rapunzel is the only one who can break the enchantment. But jealousy and envy make it difficult for the two girls to work together. They must learn to love to break free.

“It came to me, in that moment, that Melisande was old. For more years than I had been alive she had carried the wizard’s curse within her heart. She could have let it turn her hard and bitter, but she had not. Instead she had found room inside her heart for me. She had kept her hopes for her daughter alive. How strong her heart must be, I thought. Could mine learn to be as strong?” – Golden by Cameron Dokey

I’ll be honest, I think that I liked this book better than Before MidnightIt still has a few problems. It begins very slow and at first I was thinking, where is Dokey going with this? A bald Rapunzel? How is this going to work out? And I do think a few people may feel disappointed with the ending (I don’t want to give it away). However I think it ends with a very good message of love, trust, breaking barriers and stigmas, and friendship. This is definitely not the story of Rapunzel that you remember as a child but that’s what makes it extremely interesting.

“This is what love is, I thought. A possibility that becomes a choice. A choice you keep making, over and over. Day after day. Year after year. Time after time.” – Golden by Cameron Dokey

I give this book a 3.5 out of 5. The writing style was a bit strange at times, Dokey seemed to me to overcomplicate a fairly simple story. And I had to reread some paragraphs because I was like “what?” I finally understood after two or three reads, it just took awhile to get there. Also I wish that there was more character development of Rue, and that more time was spent building up her and Rapunzel’s relationship. It all seems to just happen in the end, with very little explanation of how it was all possible. But the storyline of a bald Rapunzel is engaging, and I think she serves as a good role model for young girls. I was a bit disappointed by Rue’s ending; I think it was too predictable, but overall an easy and enjoyable read for the cottage. And the colour in the title (Golden) helped me to knock another book off of POPSUGAR’s 2015 Reading Challenge.

I will post my review for The 100 tomorrow and the final book from Cameron Dokey, Wild Orchid, will be posted on Thursday.

One thought on “Book Review: Golden

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Wild Orchid | Tea and a Good Read

Leave a Reply

